How can I get rid of a duplicate person record

Modified on Tue, 01 Aug 2023 at 12:41 PM

If you have located a duplicate person record in your account, we recommend merging the duplicate records over deleting the duplicate. A person record should only be deleted if

  • it was created accidentally
  • it was created within the wrong person type
  • only when there is no account or referral data connected to the record.

Merging the duplicate records together will simply move all data associated with one person over to the person you choose to keep.


To merge duplicate records:

  1. In Person Management, click on the appropriate tab: Students, Staff, Non-Staff.
  2. Locate and click the name of the person to be retained. Note: The list displays names based on the filters you have checked - active, inactive, archived. If you can't locate the duplicate, it may be because the duplicate's status is set to inactive or archived.
  3. Click Merge.
  4. The person record you've selected appears within the pop-up window. Select the person to remove from the Person to Delete list.
  5. Click Merge.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article